skip to Main Content
046 9021495

Navan Rugby Club have been named as hosts of the 2019 Bank of Ireland Leinster Rugby Provincial Towns Cup final, which will be played on the 28th of April 2019

The Provincial Towns Cup was established in 1888 and is one of the oldest trophies in the history of Irish rugby.
This season is the 94th year of the competition.

Navan RFC are honoured to host the Provincial Towns Cup Final in 2019. As a club, we hold the Towns Cup in the highest regard and we are very proud of our own participation in the tournament which we have won on ten occasions.

Why is the Provincial Towns Cup so dear to so many people’s hearts?

The clue is in the name – “Provincial” and “Town”; you are playing for your local town against like-minded people from other Leinster towns in games you can all buy into.

The Holy Grail of Rugby for Provincial Towns was winning the Provincial Towns Cup. A season was judged by how well you had done in the Cup, not how you had done in Area Cups or Leinster Leagues. A good run in the Cup was a good season; getting to the final was a great season, and winning it – well, you only dreamt of that. That dream became a reality for Navan in the Sixties, with three wins and three losses up to 1972. The team was mostly made up of hardy farmers and Gaelic players.
A characteristic of the Towns Cup has been teams going on to win the Cup multiple times over a short period of time – as Skerries did in the mid-Seventies. Navan’s next success was 3 Towns Cup wins in 4 years at the end of the Eighties and early Nineties. A team that was notable for having 3 sets of brothers – the Bradys, the Beggys and the Nugents. It was also notable that the entire squad at that time was from the Navan area. The mid-Nineties were dominated by Carlow who won 5 Towns Cups in 6 years. Navan’s next success was in 1999 and 2000 which for the first time was coached by a foreigner who brought in new ideas like pre-season training, gym work and perhaps not drinking a gallon of beer the night before a game.
Navan last tasted success with a double in 2007 and 2008. What is notable since that time is the number of different teams who have won the Cup, with no one team dominating the tournament.

Towns Cup Round 1


Towns Cup Round 2


Towns Cup Round 3


Towns Cup Semi Finals


Towns Cup Final